San Juan Skyway

In Scenic Drives by JMorganLeave a Comment

Tour the majesty of the San Juan Mountains with this 236 mile loop starting south of Montrose. Visit mining towns, hot springs, an historic rail line, and a taste of the Four Corners area of Colorado.
Length:  236 miles.
Driving time:  6 hours.
Major Features:

Mesa Verde National Park, Anasazi Heritage Center, Four Wilderness Areas, Ouray Hot Springs, Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railorad/ Museum, Animas Museum, Galloping Goose Historical Society, Ridgway Visitor Center and Railroad Museum, San Juan County Historical Society, Telluride Historic Museum, Ouray County Historical Society Museum, Mancos State Park, Ridgway State Park.

Towns: Cortez, Dolores, Durango, Mancos, Ouray, Ridgway, Silverton, Telluride.

San Juan Skyway mapCelebrate the 25th Anniversary of the San Juan Skyway a national “All American Road.”  From Montrose drive south on Highway 550 into Ridgway, continue into the historic mining town of Ouray or drive west on Highway 62 over Dallas Divide and to Placerville. At Placerville one meets Highway 145, going south to Telluride, Rico, Dolores and Cortez. The southern stretch of the Skyway is rich in Native American Heritage, including the Anasazi Heritage Center and Mesa Verde National Park. Durango is the home of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, noted as “One of the World’s Top Ten Most Exciting Train Rides” by the Society of American Travel Writers in 2009. Follow the loop north and discover the old mining towns of Silverton and Ouray.







Leave a Comment